Hi everyone,

I am new to Java. I am taking a Java programming course and I am having some difficulty. My professor said I should seperate my class that stores employee information and calculates pay from the class that contains my main method. How do I do that? I understand what the professor is saying and I understand how to create the classes but I am confused on where exactly how to do this. I am going to post some of my code, I know that the employee information class needs to be seperated somewhere in the section of code that I am posting but unsure as to where.

public class Payrollprogram

{
   // main method begin program execution
    public static void main( String args[] )
      {
        // scanner to obtain user input 
        Scanner input = new Scanner( System.in );
      }

private String employeeName; //name of employee

//constructor to initialize employeeName
    public Payrollprogram( String name )

{
        employeeName = name; //initializes employeeName
      } //end constructor

// method to set employee name
   public void setEmployeeName( String name )
     {
       employeeName = name;
     }// end method setEmployeeName

// method to retrieve employee name
   public String getEmployeeName()
     {
       return employeeName; 
     } // end method getEmployeeName

//display welcome message for user
   public void displayMessage()
}

This is not all of my code but I closed it so that everyone would know that was not the problem.
I have worked on it since my professor last saw it but I'm not sure I fixed the problem he said I was having. Any feed back would be greatly appreciated. I hope I posted the code correctly according to the rules. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

ok, what you need to do, is to split them up. keep the main method in Payrollprogram and then everything to do with the details of a client, you keep in a different class.