Hi! I know alot of people try and learn C++ by themselves,and I am just interested to know how many people here have managed to become good by learning themselves. Also would be interesting to know the general perception of self-taught programmers by profesionals is?

Just for the record I was taught a bit of C and am now trying to teach myself C++, i'm not aiming to become professional but I know some people who do. Personally I struggle with a lot of the more technical/subtle details and I can see this being a common problem for people teaching themselves unless they are really clever.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

Well, I would like to say i've become a fairly good programmer and im fully self-taught, but the really trick to it is READING!, you will want to buy yourself a decent C++ book if you want to learn anything fast. You also have to be willing to practice, and not to give up the second you get a problem, and if you get really stuck, you can post the problem here :)

Hope this helps.

>I am just interested to know how many people here
>have managed to become good by learning themselves.
I'm largely self-taught. You can decide for yourself if I meet your definition good or not.

>Also would be interesting to know the general perception
>of self-taught programmers by profesionals is?
The best programmers I've met (professional or otherwise) were all self-taught.

>Personally I struggle with a lot of the more technical/subtle details
Everyone struggles with that, especially if the details can't be compared to existing knowledge.

>but the really trick to it is READING!