I'm completely new to C & need some help =(

I want to make this clear.... This is a homework project that I'm stuck on so if you feel this is "cheating" then sorry for "offending" you.

How can I change the tax rate in the executable file?

This is my input data:
initial cost: 235000 , 257500, 298900
electric: 185, 135, 150
water & sewer: 54, 46, 53
tax rate %: 3.8, 3.0, 2.6

#include <stdio.h> //printf, scanf definitions
int
main(void)

{

int initial_cost, electric_bill, water_sewer;
   float tax_rate, total;

printf("\n Initial cost:    ");
   scanf("%d", &initial_cost);
   printf("\n Electric bill:   ");
   scanf("%d", &electric_bill);
   printf("\n Water & sewer:   ");
   scanf("%d", &water_sewer);
   printf("\n Tax rate:        ");
   scanf("%d", &tax_rate);

printf("\n                             student name   ");
  printf("\n\n       Input data                                      15 year total\n");

[B]tax_rate         = ? * initial_cost;[/B]
  total            = initial_cost + electric_bill + water_sewer + tax_rate;

printf ("   \nInitial cost :  = %10.0d", initial_cost );
  printf ("   \nElectric bill: =  %10.0d", electric_bill);
  printf ("   \nWater & Sewer: =  %10.0d", water_sewer  );
  printf ("   \nTax rate:      =  %13.2f", tax_rate     );
  printf ("   \nTotal:         =  %10.0f", total        );
  return(0)
}

to make this clear .. the assignment x.x

Assignment -

When shopping for a new house several factors should be considered. In this problem the initial cose of the house, the monthly electric bill, the mothly water & sewer bill, and the annual tax rate are available. Write a program that will allow the user to impt the initial cost of the house, momthly electric bill, monthly water & sewer bill, and the tax rate. The program should print out the input  data and calculate and print the total cost of the house for 15 years.