hi im new to java and just need a little help in the right direction. I am trying to display an input of int on number at a time. So for example the user would enter 1998 and the output would be:
and we have to use the operators / and %. I know that % is to show the remainder but it just doesn't make sense to me how they could output that on each line. I have tried solving this using just / and - but it doesn't work. Also the input can only be a 4 digit Int

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

hi im new to java and just need a little help in the right direction. I am trying to display an input of int on number at a time. So for example the user would enter 1998 and the output would be:
and we have to use the operators / and %. I know that % is to show the remainder but it just doesn't make sense to me how they could output that on each line. I have tried solving this using just / and - but it doesn't work. Also the input can only be a 4 digit Int

Create five variables, all integers. Have a variable called year that stores 1998. Have four more variables: thousands , hundreds , tens , ones . If year = 1998, use the / and % operators to put the proper value into each variable so that thousands = 1, hundreds = 9, tens = 9, ones = 8, then display them with 4 separate println commands.

commented: Now I know how to help people who don't know where to start +3