Right I must first say, this is not homework, if it was, I might have a clue what I am doing.

I am currently doing some research and as part of the understanding of the data we have produced I am trying to convolute it.

For this I want a C++ programme that can

firstly convolute a gaussian with one of my data points,

secondly convolute a gaussian with two of my data points,

then convolute a gaussian with all of my data points.

As a complete novice I realise this may well take some time, but any hints in the right direction would be great, the entire code would be even better, but there would have to be an idiots guide with it as I want to understand how it works too.

Thanks

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

i don't know what "convolute a gaussian" actually is... probably because I skiped my math class :) ... but, in cases like this you should do a study over the algorithm ivolved ( you could even post some links here so we can see it too ) and then try to find an open-source library that already implements your desired function ( you will shurely find it !!! ), and carefully check their implementation. If you agree with it .. there you go, if not go ahead and implement it yourself, but at least, now you have a starting point...

i don't know what "convolute a gaussian" actually is... probably because I skiped my math class :) ... but, in cases like this you should do a study over the algorithm ivolved ( you could even post some links here so we can see it too ) and then try to find an open-source library that already implements your desired function ( you will shurely find it !!! ), and carefully check their implementation. If you agree with it .. there you go, if not go ahead and implement it yourself, but at least, now you have a starting point...

A Guassian is just a function

So basically what i want to do is convolute a value with a function.