I'm still learning Linux, and have been for the past 7 years, but am still rusty on scripting.
Can someone tell me if it is possible to create a script that will change the DNS IP address of your interface from dynamic (from DHCP) to a specific static IP address? If so, can someone point me to how this can be done?
I know you can change these settings from command line using VI on the /etc/resolve.conf file but I wasn't sure if there was a way to automatically change that with a script that I can simply launch from the GUI desktop in Ubuntu 8.10.
Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Hey there,

It sounds like you want to change ethernet settings and reset your DNS.

For DNS, the easiest way would be to create an additonal resolv.conf - /etc/resolv.conf.static or something like that - and backup your current resolv.conf and copy that one over it.

For your ethernet address, you should be able to do something close to the following (setting up a file in /etc/network/interfaces would make this easier, but not as easy to explain ;)

Assuming eth0

ifdown eth0
ifconfig eth0 10.10.10.10 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

should do it - just change 10.10.10.10 to your static IP and replace the 255.255.255.0 subnet mask with whatever is appropriate for your system.

Hope that helps :)

, Mike

Hey there,

It sounds like you want to change ethernet settings and reset your DNS.

For DNS, the easiest way would be to create an additonal resolv.conf - /etc/resolv.conf.static or something like that - and backup your current resolv.conf and copy that one over it.

For your ethernet address, you should be able to do something close to the following (setting up a file in /etc/network/interfaces would make this easier, but not as easy to explain ;)

Assuming eth0

ifdown eth0
ifconfig eth0 10.10.10.10 netmask 255.255.255.0 up

should do it - just change 10.10.10.10 to your static IP and replace the 255.255.255.0 subnet mask with whatever is appropriate for your system.