I am new to assembly. I have writtem a program for my Z80. I have successfully assembled it. How do I make it to an EXE file?

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

When you say you have successfully assembled it, i'm asuming you now have at least one Object file. In which case you need a linker to link the object files together into and exe file.

Chris

An EXE file is a Windows file. Your assembler should output a binary file, which would probably need to be converted to an Intel Hex file, the standard for burning to EPROMs, depending on where the Z80 is executing the code from.

When you say you have successfully assembled it, i'm asuming you now have at least one Object file. In which case you need a linker to link the object files together into and exe file.

Chris

Yes I have an .obj file. Any idea where I can get this linker. thx

It would be a lot more useful if you told us the actual name/version of the tools you're using to compile / assemble your programs.

Also, the actual details of the hardware you plan to load this onto.

It would be a lot more useful if you told us the actual name/version of the tools you're using to compile / assemble your programs.

Also, the actual details of the hardware you plan to load this onto.

Hi again. I am using TASM v2.9 assembler. I am running Windows Hyperterminal for communication. I have a Z80 mini computer (1.8432 MHz) with ROM, SRAM, USART, CTC and PIO. The ROM has boot code and has USART running at 2400 baud. I can fire up computer and it works by sending bootup message to Hyperterminal. However, my efforts at loading programs into my Ram have failed miserably. I haven't found a linker that will make a loadable program. Any help would be appreciated.