Hello everyone,

I have to learn vb and complete a project in another 2 months. I have no experience in vb. I have no idea which books to refer for learning. I need it from the very basics. I'll be glad if you all can suggest some books or any website which you think is good for vb beginners. Thank you.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

SAMS Teach Yourself VB in 24hrs is OK

hi, if u need exact requirement. discribe ur project. is ur project, database project or some other? is access back end or oracle. ? r u going to use ados or some other?
as ur new better go for some concepts like 1.general controls(textbox,combobox,listbox,lable,timer and grids(mshflexigrid), if required treeview,listview,menubar, toolbar,status bar)
2. for database programming. for programming with ADOS, make sure U master in RECORDSET OBJECT,CONNECTION, AND COMMAND. thats it.
better go for help MSDN.
books r always better, but use MSDN( Spend some time on msdn for this concepts, u can use examples)

off cource MR.Mark Nemtsas. tutorial on ados is very nice. just go through it.
any how all the friend r their who will enjoy programming by providing help to others.
all the best

discribe ur project. is ur project, database project or some other? is access back end or oracle. ?

Hi,

Yes...this is for a database project ( a mini project) ..back end is access...front end vb. And thanks a lot for the information.

hi u could try http://msdn.microsoft.com
i am working on a similar project and the code samples and tutorials on the site are pretty good.

SAMS Teach Yourself VB in 24hrs is OK

I agree!

Sams is really good with their "...in 24 hours" and "...in 21 days" series. Always recommended to get a good grasp on the basics of whatever you're trying to learn.