hi there. i am new to C++ AND unix. this assignment that i have is really really easy, but the specifics of C++ and getting around in Unix is making it really hard and time consuming. i have a really small program that should be working, but i am getting the wrong output AND at the end of the output i get a Segmentation fault.

i have a function called series that is declared and works fine. i have inserted a cout<< to check that the function is working right. but i am still getting the wrong output AND this error. am i doing something illegal? using the function result as the array index? i know i am not telling you much about the code, i am just wondering if there are any GLARING unix or C++ no-nos that anyone sees.

int main (){
   const int MAX_NUM = 60;

const int MAX_CALLS = 41;

int num_calls [MAX_CALLS];

int k = 0;

for(int i=1; i<=MAX_NUM; i++){
      num_calls[i] = 0;
      cout<< series(i) <<endl;
      if ((series (i)) < MAX_CALLS){
        num_calls[series (i)]++;
      }
      else{ 
        k++;
      }
   }

for(int l=1; l<MAX_CALLS; l++){
      cout<< l << "       " << num_calls[l] <<endl;
   }

cout<< "and " << k << "numbers have series length greater than 40" <<endl;
}

thanks
crq

Recommended Answers

All 11 Replies

Hi,

First, and this is a style thing... I hate it when people place the brace { on the same line as the expression... just does not look nice to me.

Adjusted:

int main ()
{
   const int MAX_NUM = 60;

const int MAX_CALLS = 41;

int k = 0;

for(int i=1; i<=MAX_NUM; i++)
         {
         num_calls[i] = 0;
         cout<< series(i) <<endl;
         if ((series (i)) < MAX_CALLS)
             {
             num_calls[series (i)]++;
             }
         else
             { 
             k++;
             }
         }

for(int l=1; l<MAX_CALLS; l++)
         {
         cout<< l << "       " << num_calls[l] <<endl;
         }

cout<< "and " << k << "numbers have series length greater than 40" <<endl;
}