I am new to c# and would like if I could get some assistance in the design of an application. My experience in c# is limited to the month I've completed so far of a course at school. I have also spent a decent amount of my time reading internet tutorials and playing around in code. Outside of c# the only other programming languages I'm fluent in (if you can call them languages) are php, html, and css. I also have a good bit of experience with access, progreSQL, mySQL etc.

The application I would like to complete does the following things.
-Take user input and use it to query a large table and return a smaller table that will be used as a form.
-Allow user to edit this form
-Remove null values left after user edits the form
-Store & print the completed form

ie. I have an enormous table of parts. These parts are broken down into approx. 20 main sizes. I want the user to be able to query for the size piece they need and view a form containing only parts for that size.

The user then should be able to edit three of the columns (yes/no values), and remove all entries with null values in these three rows.

Then this part order should be stored in a printable format.

I'm planning on using an access database connected via the OLEdb method.

I am looking for any direction on where I should start with this project. Should I use a different type of db? Should I use tableAdapters or what to display the editable form? How and in what format should I be saving these filled out forms? How do I control the printable output of these forms?

Thanks in advance

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Do not use multiple type of databases.

I am clearly not planning on mixing db types. I was asking what is the preferred db when developing in c#.

There isnt really a "preferred" its whats required. an Access DB is rarely ideal but, if thats all you have..