Before I begin, let me start by saying that this is NOT homework. I am also not enrolled in a C++ class. I am simply trying to learn C++ as I have time. I am using random assigments/tutorials/whatever I can find on the net and shopping amazon for books. I'm not trying to become an awesome programmer, just trying to get a grasp on basic concepts (I'm a network admin and work with a bunch of programmers and just want to be able to understand things better)

I wrote the program at the bottom to understand how classes work and would like to stick with this to understand overloading operators since I understand how this works.

Can someone show me what this program would look like with the following (or if I have typed something stupid in the following, ask me and I'll try to explain what I mean unless I am totally confusing myself):

constructor methods that initialize my variables
program modified with an overloaded (<<) output method that uses friend
program modified with an overloaded (+) method as a class member
program modified with an overloaded (+) method as a function outside of class

Here's the code, and sorry if this is something really easy, I'm just trying to wrap my head around it:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

class Statistics
{
	private:
	int count;
	float num, total, average;

public:	
	void calcAverage()
	{
		total = 0.0;
		int limit = 10;

for (count = 0; count < limit; count++)
		{
			cout << "Enter a number: ";
			cin >> num;
			total = total + num;
		}
		average = total / count;
		cout << endl << endl << "AVERAGE: " << average << endl;
	}
};

int main()
{
	Statistics sp;
	sp.calcAverage();
	return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

That would be the original program modified three separate times. Not all of that in one program. I'd like to see how each works.

Thanks a ton!