Please can anyone tell me in few words What is wrong with the following class definition? whait's missing, etc.

Class Numeric
{
private:
long x;
public
void set (long n) const { x = n; }
long get () { return x; } const
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Public is missing a colon, and get() method should look like this: long get () const { return x; } Why do you need set method to be const anyway?

I'm not a C++ programmer. I'm a student and I got this question for home assignement and we just started to learn C++ and I couldn't find the answer anywhere. Thanks.

I would appreciate if you or anyone else would have a good will and explain me several more questions. We actually don't need to write programs just to explain some things in c++ (classes)
this question for example

6. Suppose class X includes a data elements common declared as public. How can it be
accessed by all functions in the same name space ?

and these first 2 ones ..

1. Consider the following declarations
bool func1 (double, double&, double&);
bool func2 (double, double*, double*);
double x = 9.7, y = 0.0, z = 0.0;
bool res;
Call each function with arguments x, y, and z. The return value shall be assigned to the
variable res.

2. Please write and test a function strReverse() that reverses the order of characters in a given
string. The string is passed to the function as a read-only reference. The function returns a
read-only reference to the result.

I will need to present so all help would be appreciated.

I'll tell you how to get the strReverse() done. Since this is a home assignment I'll only tell you how you could do it.

First of all you need to decide whether you want to do it the string or char * (C-string) way.