import java.awt.*;
import java.awt.event.*;
import java.util.*;
import java.io.*;
class ll{

public static void main(String[] a) {

FileReader fr;
    try {
      fr = new FileReader (new File("C:\\University Study\\Component Engineering\\Assignments\\Assignment !\\yourFile.txt"));
      BufferedReader br = new BufferedReader (fr);
      String line = br.readLine();
      while (line != null) {
          System.out.println(line);
          line = br.readLine();
      }
      br.close();

} catch (Exception e) {
      // TODO Auto-generated catch block
      e.printStackTrace();
    }

}
}

The text file and the class are in the same folder and even when i specified the location I still get this exception. It's not a compile error it's a runtime error. I've tried to be as specific as i can but this is my first time posting.

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Most probably, your file location is wrong. It might be "Assignment 1".

also the filenames are case sensitive, and windows has an annoying habit of naming things name.txt.txt

Try "right" clicking on the file and select "Properties". You will find the exact location and file name to use at your code

Are you sure about that explanation mark "!" in your file path string? fr = new FileReader (new File("C:\\University Study\\Component Engineering\\Assignments\\Assignment !\\yourFile.txt")); Also if you just learning to work with files try to keep your file in same folder as your compiled program so then you do not need to call absolute path as above and can simple use relative just yourFile.txt

PS: You class name doesn't have proper name in according to recommended naming conventions which for class says the first letter should be capitalized, and if several words are linked together to form the name, the first letter of the inner words should be uppercase