Hi guys :
i'm new in programming, i'm reading c++ by dissection and for chapter 2 i encounter with a exercise that i can't solve it,please help me on it.
the program is :
Write a program that finds the maximum and minimum integer value of a sequence of inputted integers. The program should first prompt the user for how many values will be entered. The program should print this value out and ask the user to confirm this value. If the user fails to confirm the value, she must enter a new value.

i don't have the concept, please help me.

thank you

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

You have to first create a data structure. An array or vector of int should be the most correct data structure.
Then ask the user how may value you need to input.
Run a loop and accept all those value in a vector ( or array,) from the user. ( by using cin>>)
Now you will have a vector ( or an array) which contain the sequence.
To find the maximum, assume that the first element of the vector (or array ) is the maximum. (this can be done by defining a variable: max and setting its value to the value of the first element of the vector or array) Now iterate through the whole vector(or array) and check if max<n where n is the i-th element.
If it is, set max to n.

commented: Very good description of the algorithm :) +3

Probably it's described in a further chapter of your book, but I still want to give you an example using vectors:

/* Declare the vector */
vector<int> v;
/* Put some values in it */
v.push_back(10);
v.push_back(3);
v.push_back(30);
v.push_back(12);
v.push_back(5);
v.push_back(23);
v.push_back(28);
/* Sort the vector from the lowest to the highest numbers */
sort(v.begin(),v.end()); /* now the vector contains the elements in the following order: 3, 5, 10, 12, 23, 28, 30 */

Now you just have to read out the first and the last element of the vector and you've the lowest and the highest number of a sequence :), but probably siddhantes' way is the easiest to understand for you ...