Hi Guys,

I need some light on this. I am a beginner programmer in vb.net but used to be programming in the old days in QBasic, Cobol, Dataflex, Informix, DBase etc.

Now, I am developing/creating software and have hired some online programmers to do the job.

My questions are:

a) Is there a way to provide VB.NET code for continuation of programming but being able to password-protect some parts of the code of some routines so that it can't be viewed??? i.e.: I would like to use another programmer on a project but do not want to give the source unless it can be somehow protected.

b) Is there an easy way to merge/update projects? i.e: replace updated forms or code from one project to an updated copy of the same project. Project a) has updated graphics in the forms while project b) has more code and developed procedures.

c) Do I have to provide a project code in order to get a customized-skin?

d) Is there a way to setup a remote console access so that a programmer can access that computer, code and run the app remotelly without being able to download the entire project on his machine?

Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

a) No. But if you can separate the "sensitive" part of the code to a different project, you could compile it as a DLL and use obfuscator. Even that doesn't provide a total, 100% protection

b) I suggest using version controlling with branch/merge. MS has its SourceSafe but there are very good commercial and even open source alternatives

c)

Do I have to provide a project code in order to get a customized-skin?

Didn't quite get that. VB.NET doesn't have any "skinning control", you have to use a third-party solution or build your own. If you mean changing "normal" visual styles of forms and controls, you can rip off the code part and provide just UI. If a form's "skinning" has to be done programmatically, you can set properties in a single sub and call it from a form's load event