This is my first time programming anything and i'm reading the learning python book. I'm stuck at step one and very annoyed. I'm trying to run just a simple print saved program i wrote in notebook. For some reason i can't open it, ive gotten to the point where i have >>> waiting for my command but i try typing C:\python25\python script.py and script.py and even just python script.py and a bunch of other combinations. I'm on a windows vista. What do i type exactly to open up a script. It's saying it's not defined
thanks Jessie

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

If you've written the script with IDLE, the best (and easiest) way to run it is by pressing F5 inside IDLE (once you've got the file open).

If you've written it with some other editor, then you need to go into Window's vista command prompt, navigate to the folder where you saved the script (cd command), and then type script.py .

Note, if you have >>> that means you are in the python interpreter and not command prompt.

If you've written the script with IDLE, the best (and easiest) way to run it is by pressing F5 inside IDLE (once you've got the file open).

If you've written it with some other editor, then you need to go into Window's vista command prompt, navigate to the folder where you saved the script (cd command), and then type script.py .

Note, if you have >>> that means you are in the python interpreter and not command prompt.

Thanks for the reply. I wrote it with notebook. I've navigated to where the file is and it says its not defined... i don't understand what im doing wrong. let me get this straight once im in python interpreter then i can just write the script.py?

Not exactly.

The easiest way is to start IDLE (Python GUI). On the file menu, click open to load your script, and then press F5 to run it.

If you want to write new scripts with it, start the python gui. On the file menu choose New Window and type your code there. Save it and then press F5 to run it.