Hi everyone, im fairly new to programming and i'm having problems solving my homework. My assignment is:

Define a class Quadratic that stores the coefficients of a quadratic polynomial in a dynamically allocated array of doubles. Supply the "big three" memory management functions. Use this class to demonstrate
(a) the difference between initialization
Quadratic s;
Quadratic t = s;
and assignment
Quadratic s;
Quadratic t;
s = t;
(b) the fact that all constructed objects are automatically destroyed
(c) the fact that the copy constructor is invoked if an object is passed by value to a function
(d) the fact that the copy constructor is not invoked when a parameter is passed by reference
(e) the fact that the copy constructor is used to copy a return value to the caller.
Supply a member function which calculates the value of a quadratic function for a given argument value. Overload + and - operators for addition and subtraction of two polynomials and the unary operator * which return true or false when the corresponding quadratic equation has or has not real roots. Overload the stream operators << and >>. Demonstrate all these functions and operators.

Until now i have come up with the following code:

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

class Quadratic {
      public:
      Quadratic();
      Quadratic (double value1,double value2,double value3);
      ~Quadratic ();
      Quadratic(const Quadratic& a);
      Quadratic& operator=(const Quadratic& a);
      Quadratic& operator+(const Quadratic &a);
      Quadratic& operator-(const Quadratic& c);
      Quadratic& operator*();

void print() const;

private:

double* pointer;

};

Quadratic::Quadratic(double value1,double value2,double value3)
{
  cout<<"Constructor: ";
  pointer = new double[3];
  pointer[0]=value1;
  pointer[1]=value2;
  pointer[2]=value3;
}
Quadratic::~Quadratic()
{
     cout<<"Destructor: ";
     delete pointer;
}
Quadratic::Quadratic(const Quadratic& a)
{