Member Avatar for lazlo2000

I am using vb 6.0
I am fairly new to VB, my question is:
On my main form I have a command button that has 40 procedures and it loops through them about 1,000 times and then exits. Nothing is passed and all of the variables are private.
I have one problem, memory. As it loops through the procedures, the memory taken up by the program keeps increasing. I have learned that the variables are not being cleared after the procedure ends and they are being kept in memory.
After googling for days, all I could find out was to use "an activeX"
Should I use "Active X exe" or "Active X dll"?

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Well, it really depends on exactly what you are doing...

If you have something like this...

Procedure01 calls procedure02
Procedure02 calls procedure03
03 calls 04
04 calls 05

Then what you are doing is building up the stack space and thus you can see the memory expand.

However if you do something like this...

01 calls 02 and 02 returns to 01 (then pop off the stack it comes)
01 calls 03 and ....

then your memory will fluxuate up and down but not too seriously unless you keep building things up in memory... Meaning if you have lets say a string varible declared in the general declaration section of the form and your sub/functions keep adding to it.

So when you say your private variables are not being cleared when a sub is done, it leads me to belive that these variables are in the general declaration section.

Good Luck

The program is doing some number crunching, text manipulation, division, etc. An attempt at a lottery program. :-)

On my main form there is a richtextbox, and a button.
When the button is clicked, it goes through each sub and puts a line of text in the richtextbox to inform the user of it's progress.

The button:

Private sub cmdBegin_Click()
'''' gets the number of draws in the list (n) and loops (n) times
 x = 0
do until x = n
  GetDraw
  CheckDraw
  AnalyzeFirstNumber
  AnalyzeSecondNumber