I'm a C++ beginner. What's an easy to use (in terms of both installation and use in code) library for using MySQL in C++? Is there one that's a lot more commonly used than others? Note that I'm using MySQL 4.1.22 on GNU/Linux.

I've found the following:

I think SQLAPI++ abstracts away which database you're using, which is good but not crucial; and I'm not sure how complicated it is to install.

Is one of these libraries particularly easy to install and use? Is one considered something of a "standard" when it comes to C++ and MySQL?

If someone has any other libraries to recommend, then post them :)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

These All libraries are good, but for linux, i would advise to use MySQL wrapped, as it has own code for linux.

Thank you.

Do others have any suggestions or tips?

I'm trying out MySQLWrapped, but am having a strange problem that I can't figure out. After downloading mysqlwrapped-1.6.tar.gz, running 'make' and mimicing the MySQLWrapped example, I get the following "undefined reference" error:

[~/public_html/cpp/mysqlwrapped-1.6]# g++ test2.cpp
/tmp/ccFHonFH.o(.text+0xeb): In function `main':
: undefined reference to `Database::Database(std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&, std::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&, IError*)'
/tmp/ccFHonFH.o(.text+0x2ac): In function `main':
: undefined reference to `Database::~Database()'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status

Here's the test2.cpp file that gives the error (login info omitted):

#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <mysql/mysql.h>
#include <string>

#include "Database.h"
#include "Query.h"

int main()
{
    Database db("localhost", "user", "password", "database");
}