I'm using poisson's process for probability. This is the equation I'm using : P(x)= ((lamda^x)*e^(-lamba))/x!

it's the factorial part I'm not getting right though. I can get the first 3 probabilities right (0,1,2) but everything after that starts to be off by half and so on. Look I know the code isn't perfect by any means and I'm missing some things, but this is the meat and where the problem lies. I'm new to this so please help me out.

for (x = 0.0; x <= 10.0; x = x + 1.0)  // three control expressions of the loop

{
		  for(i=x;i>=1;i--)
  {       
	      fact=fact*i;}

b=pow(a,x);
		  c=pow(2.71828, -a);
		  d=b*c;

e=d/fact;

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

Missing your fact initialization!

Also in your code, you need the entire function because
a is missing, etc. And why the second loop if it is based upon the outer loop?

for ( int x = 0; x <= 10; x = x + 1) 
{
     int fact = 1;
     for(i=x;i>=1;i--)
     {       
          fact=fact*i;
      }

I've seen this question posted many times! You need a factorial for each step in the run!
!0 = 1 !1 = 1 !2 = 2 !3 = 6, etc.

Since this will contain concepts probably not taught yet, I suggest all of you use it as a basis to fix your programs. This is untested but it should be essentially what you're looking for!

void ProbProc( unsigned int nQty )
{
   double a = (double)nQty;
   double b, c, d, e;
   const unsigned int nRun = 10;
   double fact[ nRun + 1 ];

// build your factorial table
   fact[0] = 1.0;
   for ( unsigned int x = 1; x <= nRun; x++) 
   {
      fact[x] = fact[x-1] * (double)x;
   }
       // Now crunch the result. Loop for each factorial!
   for ( unsigned int x = 0; x <= nRun; x++) 
   {
      b = pow( a, x );
      c = pow( 2.71828, -a );
      d = b * c;
      e = d / fact[x];

// Display result here!
   }
}