Does anyone know if Microsoft will be offering Visual Basic .Net 2005 as a standalone product? I can't imagine that they would not, but I can't find anything on their site that mentions anything but Visual Studio 2005, which contains a host of things I don't want. I have a copy of VB6, but I have tentatively decided to move to .Net
I am also wondering (hope this isn't offensive to anyone) how experienced programmers feel about a product called REALbasic? Is it worth considering against Visual Basic? As you might have guessed, I'm rather new to programming so I'd like to get off on the best possible foot here.

Recommended Answers

All 26 Replies

REALbasic is comparable to VB6 - perhaps a little more stripped down than even that. I have the mac version and wasn't aware there was a windows equivalent. Good alternative to doing VB-style coding on the mac platform (OSX native). I would also assume that if Microsoft is putting out another version of VS.NET, they're going to offer each individual language to be purchased separately as well.

Yes, REALbasic does have fewer features than VB6. It's fairly suitable for me for where I am right now, but I'm concerned that I might miss out on something I'll need down the road if I don't go ahead and dig into VB.NET itself now, as long as I'm learning anyway. Problem is I can't afford to pay for four languages just to learn and use one, and wouldn't if I could!
Like you, I'm reasonably certain MS will offer each product separately, but hey, we're talking Microsoft here, so...

If you just learning, the educational edition of he suite is a cheaper alternative to the full license. There are items and things that you can do with the suite that are very limited or nonexistent in the individual languages. This is Microsoft's way of attempting to get people to invest in the more expensive suite than in the individual languages.

Chester