Right, so I'm fairly new to C and have worked in several high-level languages for a few years. Now I've been able to google and work with what I could find, but I have a few questions now. I'm working on a DLL that outputs information. Now I can store the information in a file but I'd like to be able to read it actively and have cross program communication and the like. The DLL is for a friend whose working in a high-level language. Now that you know the backstory.

How would I attachconsole in C to an existing process. With a DLL is their a parent-child connection to programs. How can I getch/getchar() with a DLL to pause or start output, and is there a good site I can go to for information about C functions. Almost all sites I find are C++.

Hi, I'm afraid I couldn't really find any C questions in your post, which is probably why you're having a hard time acquiring answers them by looking for information about C functions.

You ask "how would I attachconsole in C to an existing process". I'm not even sure what this means. At a guess I am thinking you want a program that can read/write to the "console" of another process? Unfortunately, C itself has no concept of processes or consoles. A C program has three pre-opened streams called standard input (stdin), standard output (stdout), standard error (stderr). Which devices (keyboard, screen, console, file, pipe, printer, ...) these streams are associated with, if any, is up to the platform and C implementation you are running the program on. If you want to do such platform specific things as "attachconsole" then you should look at the programming documentation for that platform. Since you appear to be on Windows, I'd suggest looking in MSDN, or asking a Windows Programming forum. Someone knowledgeable about these things (not me, sorry) might answer later in this thread, too.