class t{
Somebody please help me with one very simple program in java. I'm new to java, so I can't understand what all this errors about. Please help me fix this program.

It gives three errors:
illegal start of type
swith (s)

orphaned case
case 'Y':

<identifier> expected
switch (s);

class t {
char s = 'Y';
switch (s);
{
   case 'Y':
      System.out.println("Yes");
      break;
   case 'N':
      System.out.println("No");
      break;
   default:
      System.out.println("Default");
      break;
}
}

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

First, the switch statement must be contained within a method. Also, there should not be a semicolon after switch (s) .

First, the switch statement must be contained within a method. Also, there should not be a semicolon after switch (s) .

Can you tell me please what method should I use and how.

Note: before you read this, i'm giving out some explanations based on what i saw from your questions. But these explanations are nowhere close to all the things that you'll be able to do. I'd recommend you to look into a book for a wider approach to Java, and algorithms. I don't know what "level" are you in programming, so i explained it to you as if you were a beginner, so i hope you don't die of boredom with my explanations.

It's not a matter of a specific method, as it is a matter of you creating your own methods. When creating a class you're outlining something. It is like answering what? and how?. I think of it this: i you were to build a hardcore metal grinding guitar, you'd first must outline the shape, size, weight, but also the technical specifications (pickups, bridge, fretboard) and with them . You'd end up whit a piece of paper with what is and what can your guitar do but not with a guitar.