Hi everyone I couldn't find the actual logic behind below two problems:

(1) how to capture number of occurrences of 3 between 1 to 100? and (2) assigns a function to a pointer and subsequently call it.

all problems are in c++

As I'm new in this field so,please help me to sweep out the problems.
Thanks and regards
sdmahapatra

Recommended Answers

All 16 Replies

"(1) how to capture number of occurrences of 3 between 1 to 100? "

Like this : 3,13,23,33,43,54,63,73,83,93 ?

ike this : 3,13,23,33,43,53,63,73,83,93 ?

yes like this.

>>"(1) how to capture number of occurrences of 3 between 1 to 100? "

Write a for loop that counts from 1 to 100. Convert each int value to a string then test the string if it contains a '3'.

2) Do you know how to declare a function pointer? Almost like declaring a function prototype. For example, if you have a function that takes an int parameter and returns an int, then a function pointer might be int (*fn)(int);

yes like this.

Looking at this you don't even need a for loop.

Look at the pattern : 3,13,23,33,43,53,63,73,83,93,103,113,123,133...

It seems that there is 10 3's in every 100;

so ask user for max num;

set maxNum %= 100;

multiply maxNum by 10; and you have your answer.

>>It seems that there is 10 3's in every 100;
There are 19 numbers between 1 and 100 that contain one or more 3s. 3 13 23 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 43 53 63 73 83 93 I thought about the mod operator too, but it won't work. Example: Enter max num = 100. 100 % 100 == 0, which is clearly wrong answer.

yes like this.

30, 31, 32, 34, 35, ...?

Oh wait My bad.

If maxNum is multiple of 100 the I guess you can do this:

if(maxNum%100==0)
maxNum %=99

max*=19;

A common way to separate a number into digits is to use % and / like this.

#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
    int i;
    for ( i = 1; i <= 100; ++i )
    {
        int value = i;
        printf("value = %d\n", value);
        while ( value )
        {
            int digit = value % 10;