(Admin, sorry but I can't find what I would think the proper forum is. Please feel free to move this)
Hello All,

I am an old time developer. By old time I mean have been programming since the early 80's, my forte's are C, Win SDK, and more than dabbled in Perl.

I would like to now venture and seriously develop for the iPhone.

Can someone direct me to find one or two very decent books...and what would be the LEAST expensive hardware I need to purchase?

I'd ask that last question at an Apple store, but by the time they're done with me...I'd be able to afford nothing more than underwear.

Thanks,

As always.

Sergio

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You need a mac with osx leopard, Setup a developer account at developer.apple.com then download the developer sdk and install xcode. There are very good tutorials in apple's developer section. When you install the developer software on the mac there are more help videos and tutorials in xcode. If you want to publish the app to a "developer phone or ipod touch" or the app store you need to pay $99 . XCODE has a virtual app you can test on so you don't need to pay the $99 yet

Thanks freshfitz,

Got my Mac, iPhone, and paid the $99.

Since you seem versed in this arena I had to ask a follow up question if I might. Much as I tried, can't seem to find a decent XCode support forum.

Seems XCode (Version 3.1.4) doesn't like the OS ver. of my iPhone 3GS 3.0.1 (7A400)

Now I have found the 3.01 Advisory

http://blog.chomperstomp.com/iphone-0s-3-0-1-not-supported-for-development-with-xcode-sdk-3-0/

But even still ... XCode refuses to recognize my iPhone OS:

"The version of iPhone OS on “iPhone” does not match any of the versions of iPhone OS supported for development with this copy of Xcode. Please restore the device to a version of the OS listed below. If necessary, the latest version of Xcode is available here."

So if anyone has a clue....boy would I appreciate knowing the answer.

Argh........

Sergio

Thanks freshfitz,