Hi, everybody. I've been studying C# (using Visual C# 2008 Express) for several months and I think I've got the basics down pretty well at this point, so now I want to create a moderately ambitious application to consolidate and grow my skills. Any suggestions for what kind of app would utilize the full set of skills that would be expected from a preprofessional level student?

Recommended Answers

All 4 Replies

I am somewhat in the same position as you, I started about a year ago. Do ANYTHING you can imagine and that you would like to accomplish. I made a console calculator(look in the code snippets) and I also did a calculator that looks a bit like the one we all know but with special buttons. You could do a sudoku solver, I still like to do a game like MasterMind or Tetris. Those games exist that is not the point, I find it fun to do it my way. I made a little sql database with info and pictures from my friends. (It worked , currently the DB is corrupted, too much experiments on my part?)
It is hard to choose for someone else. Get yourself a goal and try to accomplish it, succes!

start creating custom components and improve component based programming then publish your components in here so we can later enhance them. i usually post all the components i create(not the commercial ones though).
you can start by creating derived buttons or textboxes. it is really entertaining dude. when i was an asp.net developer, my favorite hobby was developing asp.net toolbox items which encapsulated javascript for the most time.