Please could you give me an example of sorting an array and how to call the function at the main

thanks a lot :o :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Recommended Answers

All 14 Replies

how do you wish to sort it?

#include <algorithm>
#include <iostream>
#include <iterator>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
  int a[] = {5,7,4,6,3,8,0,1,9,2};

sort ( a, a + 10 );
  copy ( a, a + 10, ostream_iterator<int> ( cout, " " ) );
}

;)

thanks alot for helping me but could you please give me an easier example (a more basic one) im new to programming

thank you :lol: :lol: :) :) :cry: :cry: :cry:

>please give me an easier example
That's as easy as it gets. If you want something more basic then you're looking at writing a sort function manually, and that's decidedly not basic compared to just calling std::sort.

Is this a homework assignment?

you didnt tell us how you want the array sorting! Perhaps highest value to lowest if its int?

thanks all for helping me

i want to sort the array from the lowest to the highest

its a part of my assignment

i've had a look in some books and i found a sorting function, the problem is that i don't know how to call it at the void main(). I think i need somehow to call the sorted array, any body can help pleazzzzzz!!

thanks again :cry: :cry: :cry:

Wouldn't you just define the function and then call it from within main()? I think you might want to review your textbook some more on functions. I'm not worth my salt as a programmer, and I could tell you this much.

Also, I'm sure Narue might mention this, but I know you're not supposed to use void main(). I'm not entirely sure why, and I don't want to guess, but I have an idea why. Care to elaborate further on this, Narue?

Also, I'm sure Narue might mention this, but I know you're not supposed to use void main(). I'm not entirely sure why, and I don't want to guess, but I have an idea why. Care to elaborate further on this, Narue?