Hey:

I am kinda new to C++. I created this code to display the edge of chaos. Now my professor wants me to graph it in a coordinate system. I know I could use excel and plot it there but I want to learn how to do it using C++. Does anyone knows how ?

Thanks,

G

Here is the code

#include <fstream>
#include <cmath>  //for fabs, log
using namespace std;

int main(void)
{
ofstream data("lambda.doc");
int T = 10000;	//numbver of iterations
double x = 0.618;	//initial value
double x1;
double eps = 0.0005;
double xeps = x-eps;
double xeps1;
double r = 3.0;
double sum = 0.0;
while(r <= 4.0)
	{
	for(int t=0;t<T;t++)
		{
		x1 = x;
		x = r*x1*(1.0-x1);
		double distance = fabs(x-xeps);
		sum += log(distance/eps);
		xeps = x-eps;
		}
	double lambda = sum/((double)T);
	data << r << "  " << lambda << "\n";
	sum = 0.0;
	r += 0.001;
	} //end while
data.close();
return 0;
}

Recommended Answers

All 7 Replies

You won't be able to draw something in a coordinate system using only c++ (console programs).
The only way I know of drawing things is using WinAPI, but it's not as easy to learn in an hour or two.

I've made a Class in wxWidgets tp display values against time. But you could modify it for your needs.

Or you could take the easy way and just use the wxPlotCtrl from wxWidgets :)

You won't be able to draw something in a coordinate system using only c++ (console programs).
The only way I know of drawing things is using WinAPI, but it's not as easy to learn in an hour or two.

My professor recommended learning GNU. Is there any connection between GNU and C++ or am I just jumping to the wrong conclussion here ?

Hey:

I am kinda new to C++. I created this code to display the edge of chaos. Now my professor wants me to graph it in a coordinate system. I know I could use excel and plot it there but I want to learn how to do it using C++. Does anyone knows how ?

Thanks,

G

Here is the code

#include <fstream>
#include <cmath>  //for fabs, log
using namespace std;

int main(void)