Hi,

I am new to programming and I have been doing ok. I have a subject that is in C and I really need to be able to use effectively use pointers. So far my lectures are like snails with replys.. and I have 2 options..

1. play it safe and leave everything in main...
2. get cracking and learn how to correctly use pointers.

So far I have been getting VERY frustrated. And I am messing with this messing with that.. and my code is getting very messed up.

I know that in C you pass complex data types by reference and then you need to dereference them with a pointer... eg

main()
{
MyFunction(&myOwnStruct);
{

MyFunction(MyStruct *myOwnStruct)
{
....... my function code
}

Now that is all good.

I wrote the below code then decided I better put it into functions. I have posted it so far (as after I tackle the idea behind the pointers, I can do the rest)

My issues are -
1. Passing into a function and then into a sub-function.
2. Passing 2d arrays, this had just mucked me up.
3. Making comparisons between pointers and ints

The code is commented

#include <stdio.h>
#include <string.h>

#define NUM_OF_BITS 16
#define BIT_ROW 0
#define DEC_VALUE_FOR_BIT_ROW 1

void GetInput(char *inputBinaryValue, int NUMBER_OF_BITS);
int ValidateInputLength(char *inputBinaryValue, int NUMBER_OF_BITS);
int ValidateInputValues(char *inputBinaryValue, int NUMBER_OF_BITS);
void ConvertArray(char *inputBinaryValue, char *myArray, int NUMBER_OF_BITS);

int main()
{
    // some of these vaiables are redundant when I finish, I will clean it up
    int index = 0, validTestOne = 0, validTestTwo = 0;
    int column = 0;
    int decValueForBit = 1;
    int totalDecimalValue = 0;
    int myArray [2] [NUM_OF_BITS] = {0}; //final array for comparrisons
    char inputBinaryValue[NUM_OF_BITS] = {0}; // initial input read in here
    int arrayLength = 0;
    int NUMBER_OF_BITS = NUM_OF_BITS;

// loop while input is invalid
    do
    {
        GetInput(&inputBinaryValue, NUMBER_OF_BITS);