Hi guys,
I have been programming in python for just a bit over 2 years now. Being quite apt at it i was wondering, what can you do to really extend yourself in python? We have a lovely thread in the Projects for Beginners, but in some ways i have always thought it would be nice to find out some ideas of projects for non-beginners who could maybe spent a week or more on an idea.

So any ideas? Whats a project for the non-beginner? :)

Recommended Answers

All 3 Replies

Hi guys,
I have been programming in python for just a bit over 2 years now. Being quite apt at it i was wondering, what can you do to really extend yourself in python? We have a lovely thread in the Projects for Beginners, but in some ways i have always thought it would be nice to find out some ideas of projects for non-beginners who could maybe spent a week or more on an idea.

So any ideas? Whats a project for the non-beginner? :)

Just a few of my no-gos/failed projects:

1. Implement an open hashing or encryption algorithm
2. Write an IM program that encrypts the messages that it sends. (HINT: each user has a public key/private key)
3. Write a small framework on top of a gui toolkit of your choice that adds support for doing a few routine things (e.g., you can have a Document class that is linked to your customized Window class that automatically saves a document (or prompts) whenever a window is closed--among other things).

4. Also, Write a wsgi app. I don't care what. I'm probably gonna go do that now...

If you have more than one computer at home, write a module 'home' containing at least 2 functions,

def download(src_path, dst_path, computer_name):
    ???
def upload(src_path, dst_path, computer_name):
    ???

which allow you to transfer files between computers at any time. When it works, think about new useful functions and implement them.