Hai, I'm a higher secondary student in kerala. As our project I have to create a simple car racing program in c++. I implemented the following code fragment. May I get some instructions to improve it?
Especially the method of accessing input to controll movement of object?

#include<iostream.h>
#include<conio.h>
#include<dos.h>
#include<process.h>
void car(int &);
void right(int &);
void left(int &);
void bgmove(int);
void play(void);
void car(int &cp)
{	gotoxy(cp,25);
	cout<<"|--|";
	gotoxy(cp-1,26);
	cout<<"|    |";
	gotoxy(cp,27);
	cout<<"++++";
	return;
}
void right(int &cp)
{       if(cp<40)
	{
	cp=cp+1;
	}
	return;
}
void left(int &cp)
{       if(cp>20)
	{
	cp=cp-1;
	}

return;
}
void bgmove(int i)
{       for(int l=i;l<50;l+=5)
	{

gotoxy(15,l);cout<<"***";gotoxy(45,l);cout<<"***";
	 }
	 return;
}
void main()
{
	clrscr();
	int cp=28,n,s=1;
	char m;
	cout<<"Enter number of laps\n";
	cin>>n;
	clrscr();
	for(int i=0;i<n;i++)
	{	for(int j=1;j<5;j+=s)
	       {        clrscr();
			bgmove(j);
			car(cp);
			move:
			m=getch();
			delay(20);
			switch(m)
			{
			case '4':left(cp);
				 break;
			case '6':right(cp);
				 break;
			case '8':break;
			case 'q':exit(0);
			case 'c':if(s<5)
			{s=s+1;}
			default :goto move;
			}
	       }
	       }
}

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

May I get some instructions to improve it?

Yes, don't use iostream.h, use iostream, don't use void main, use int main,
don't use gotoxy, find a replacement, and don't use goto. Also why
do you have a case '8' if you don;t use it?

Thank you for co-operation.
OK I agree. 8 is not required.
How can I move the car if gotoxy is removed?
May I get the graphics codes for a car,road and for tree with explenations?
How can I include sound file in the program?
Can I replace m=getch() with any other function effective than getch()?