This is what I have so far. This isn't working and this isn't even close to working. I'm not that experienced at C++ so I was hoping that someone would help me please. The assignment is basically to write a code to validate an email address to see what characters are allowed and what characters aren't allowed. Please help in anyway possible.

Thank you.

// reading a text file
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int spc_email_isvalid(const char *address) {
  int        count = 0;
  const char *c, *domain;
  static char *specialchars = "()<>@,;:\\\"[]";

// validate the name portion (name@domain)
  for (c = address;  *c;  c++) {
    if (*c == '\"' &amp;&amp; (c == address || *(c - 1) == '.' || *(c - 1) ==
        '\"')) {
      while (*++c) {
        if (*c == '\"') break;
        if (*c == '\\' &amp;&amp; (*++c == ' ')) continue;
        if (*c < ' ' || *c >= 127) return 0;
      }
      if (!*c++) return 0;
      if (*c == '@') break;
      if (*c != '.') return 0;
      continue;
    }
    if (*c == '@') break;
    if (*c <= ' ' || *c >= 127) return 0;
    if (strchr(specialchars, *c)) return 0;
  }
  if (c == address || *(c - 1) == '.') return 0;

// validate the domain portion (name@domain)
  if (!*(domain = ++c)) return 0;
  do {
    if (*c == '.') {
      if (c == domain || *(c - 1) == '.') return 0;
      count++;
    }
    if (*c <= ' ' || *c &>= 127) return 0;
    if (strchr(specialchars, *c)) return 0;
  } while (*++c);

return (count >= 1);
}

*/

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

You can use pointers and pointer arithmetic to isolate the characters in a string, but I think the code is much more readable if you use the [] operator...

char* address = "joe_smith@yahoo.com";

for (int i = 0; i < strlen (address); i++)
    {
        char letter = address[i];
        cout << letter;
    }

for (char* c = address; *c != 0; c++)
    {
        char letter = *c;
        cout << letter;
    }