Hello,

I am new to C++ but I have built an indexing app over the past 2/3 weeks using C++ Standard Library.

This went very smoothly but I now want for the first time to bring in an external library called libcurl.

I have attached a Build log which seems to indicate that I built it OK.

But I do not know how to use this library. Is it now 'installed'? If not, what further steps do I need to take? Can I now just put an 'include' at the top of any .cpp file as I do for the standard library?

As you can see I am quite clueless w.r.t. external library usage. [Visual C++/Windows Vista]

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Hello,

I seem to be able to include the library by putting the following:

#include "curl/curl.h"

It is important to realise that the folder "curl" is the one contained in the "include" directory.

None of these files seems to have been produced by my building with Visual C++ so I think I could have just linked it in like that to start with (though I do not know this).

I also do not know whether this is the 'correct' way to link a library in (I mention it only because it works).

I got this approach from here.

Actually, sometimes I got errors like this after doing the above:

vardemo.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol __imp__curl_easy_cleanup referenced in funct
ion _main

The solution was to put "libcurl.lib" in the same directory as the C++ source file which I also added the following line to so it can see the lib.

#pragma comment(lib, "libcurl.lib")

The downloaded version of curl to use is Win32 - MSVC (SSL disabled - or else it will expect an SSL lib to be present).

So final DIR structure is

/C++ source file
/libcurl.lib
/curl/[stuff from include DIR from download, should include curl.h]

[also you dont need to build anything at any stage of this, just use files from the download]