I am new to this and maybe I'm missing the boat. I want to learn how to write a program that accepts data and adds it to a file, I also want to be able to sort that data, edit that data etc.

This seems like the most basic thing but I can't find a good tutorial on database management. Do I have to connect to mysql or some other database system or will c++ work?

Any good tutorials?

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Its not completely clear from your post whether you want to go the relational database route or the simple flat file route. That's basically the first question you must decide. The techniques involved vary considerable depending on which way you go.

flat ascii files will be fine, I don't think the conversion process is worth the trouble with the price of storage these days.

Both text (ascii or unicode) and binary data can be easily stored in either flat files you open, close & manage yourself, or in regular databases which would involve dealing with its Api, so the question doesn't really have anything to do with size. What does your data look like specifically, e.g., is it names and addresses, what?

Your basic warehouse business model
i need a parts database
a customer database
and an invoice database.
and need to use the information to be able to interface with a customer, take the order, adjust inventory, print an invoice, figure out profit, send billing statement, etc.
about 1,500 parts and about 300 customers.

Hey Taphofyle!