Hi, it's me agian... I was asked to do reasearch on how to upload a txt file's data into a MS SQL Database (corresponding columns etc.) I've searched a bit on the internet but don't find what i'm looking for... I just want to ask does anyone have an idea of where i can go and look for information on this. (I'm still very new to C# and ASP.NET programming) (It's so that i can present this topic in class and implement it in my class project) I would really appreciate any suggestions, and i thank you in advance!

Contributors
Replies
Views
7 Years
Discussion Span
Last Post by vuyiswamb
Featured Replies

Oky i've got it partially working now. My only question now is will i be able to have a autonumber column aswell in the database table so that the autonumber keeps on adding numbers as i upload my data into the table? (i hope so but i know that it will most probably only work with an insert statement? right or wrong?)

I saw that to skip the first row you can simply say FIRSTROW = 2 and so i tried FIRSTCOLUMN = 2 but doesn't work. Here is my code:

BULK INSERT dbo.testTBLUpload 
FROM 'C:\Users\GOgGA\Desktop\upload1.txt'
WITH (
		FIRSTROW = 2,
		FIELDTERMINATOR = '|',
		ROWTERMINATOR = '\n'
	 )

O snd sorry for this little bit of SQL code in the C# section on the forum. But this is for my C# class so yea!

Remove the First Column and let SQl add it for you as an identity Column.

hmmm that actually sounds the obvious ... but there wasnt a column in the textfile which has numbers for the autonumber field

Can you Post your TextFile and a Create Script of your SQl Table and i will give you an Exact code to write.

kind Regards

Vuyiswa Maseko

CREATE TABLE mytable
(
   /*id INT IDENTITY(1,1) PRIMARY KEY,*/
   Fname text,
   Surname text,
   Tel text,
   Salary DECIMAL(18,2)
);

text file:
Hein|Oosthuyzen|0123313470|15489.62
Johan|du Toit|0126547896|13240.27
Nico|Fourie|0124784532|14500.20
Shaun|Venter|0123546987|16320.12
Burnabe|Jordaan|0124872134|12480.80