I have been using textpad and Java for 3 months without trouble. We just got a new computer 64 bit Windows 7. I have downloaded Java and Textpad on the new computer but when I go to external tools to compile, the compile and run tools are missing. I have uninstalled and reinstalled, rebooted but they are still not there. Anyone know what to do? Thanks!

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Did you install the Java JDK before installing textpad? I would recommend using NetBeans, it's a free download and can save a lot of programming time.

Did you install the Java JDK before installing textpad? I would recommend using NetBeans, it's a free download and can save a lot of programming time.

Yeah, I installed Java and then Textpad. I am new to programming and we use Textpad in class. This is why I would really like to keep using it. I never had this problem before. I will check out NetBeans but I would love to use the same program as in class.

Which "Java" did you install? The JRE or the JDK? I think that the JDK includes the JRE, but I'm not sure. You can also try to install the JRE.
http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp

Look for "Java SE Development Kit (JDK)".
It looks like the current one is "JDK 6 Update 16".

Make sure to choose "Platform: Windows x64".

After installing Java JDK and JRE, reboot and then re-install TextPad.

Something else you might check is to make sure that the "Java JDK" is in your Windows path.

Thanks so much! I'm really not sure what happened but I uninstalled everything and reinstalled. I looked for the downloads you mentioned and never found exactly what you said but close. I rebooted after installing JDK (it does contain JRE) and then reinstalled Textpad. Same problem!! This time though when I went to preferences> tools there was an option to add SDK tools and there you go they are right there. I don't think I installed the right thing previously cuz this was not an option before. Thanks again for your help!! PHEW!!!