hi, i'm new in python programming
i'm trying to write a simple program that processes a text file containing grades for a class, extracts the desired grades, count the number of grades in each grade segment and genrate a pie chart for grades,(A1) .
http://pages.cpsc.ucalgary.ca/~zongpeng/CPSC231/assignments/A3/a3.pdf
any help would be appreciated
txt file
grades1.txt

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Member Avatar for masterofpuppets

hi, i'm new in python programming
i'm trying to write a simple program that processes a text file containing grades for a class, extracts the desired grades, count the number of grades in each grade segment and genrate a pie chart for grades,(A1) .
http://pages.cpsc.ucalgary.ca/~zongpeng/CPSC231/assignments/A3/a3.pdf
any help would be appreciated
txt file [ATTACH]12416[/ATTACH]

http://www.daniweb.com/forums/announcement114-2.html
try to make a plan for what the program needs to do and divide each step into separate functions. :)

Hint: f = open( filename, "r" ) opens a file named 'filename'
l = f.readlines() reads the contents of the file line by line into a list
string.split() split a string by a given delimiter as an argument

Simply posting the same question with another meaningless title again is in rather poor taste. People have given you advice, so apply it and go from there. We will not do homework for you, since you are the one that has to learn something!

here is what i have so far but it doesn't seem to be working need help in figuring out what's wrong

Code:
dbfile = open(grades.txt,'r')
  table = []
  lines = dbfile.readline()
  newtable = []
  for line in lines:  
   line = line[:-1]
   r = string.split(line,':')
   table.append(r)
  for x in table:       t=[]
   for all in x:
    if all.isalpha() == 0:
     num = float(all)
    else:
     num = all
   t.append(num)
   newtable.append(tuple(t))