So i am just starting out learning C ++ and i was trying to make a BMI calculator. When ever i run the program and it prints the BMI number its a weird number. Not one it should get. Please can u help me out with my source?

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main(void)

{
    int myweight;
    int myheight;
    int mynum;
    mynum = 703;
    int mybmi;
    int squared;

cout << "Please enter your weight in pounds." << endl << endl;
    cin >> myweight;

cout << "\nPlease enter your height in inches." <<endl << endl;
    cin >> myheight;
cin.ignore();

squared = (myheight * myheight);
    mybmi = ((myweight * mynum)/squared);

if (mybmi < 18.5) {
        cout << "\nYour BMI is:" << mybmi << cout << "\tYour BMI says you are Underwight." << endl;
    }
    else if (mybmi >= 18.5) {
        cout << "\nYour BMI is:" << mybmi << cout << "\tYour BMI says you are Normal." << endl;
    }
    else if (mybmi >= 25){ 
        cout << "\nYour BMI is:" << mybmi << cout << "\tYour BMI says you are Overwight." << endl;
    }
    else if (mybmi >= 30){ 
        cout << "\nYour BMI is:" << mybmi << cout << "\tYour BMI says you are Obese." << endl;
    }

cin.get();

system("pause");

return 0;

}

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

First use code tags when posting code so we can read it better(its the button on the tool list that says "(code)" ).

here is your code with code tags

#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int main(void)

{
int myweight;
int myheight;
int mynum;
mynum = 703;
int mybmi;
int squared;

cout << "Please enter your weight in pounds." << endl << endl;
cin >> myweight;

cout << "\nPlease enter your height in inches." <<endl << endl;
cin >> myheight;
cin.ignore();

squared = (myheight * myheight);
mybmi = ((myweight * mynum)/squared);

if (mybmi < 18.5) {
cout << "\nYour BMI is:" << mybmi << cout << "\tYour BMI says you are Underwight." << endl;
}
else if (mybmi >= 18.5) {