Hi there, I'm assuming the answer to this problem is really easy, but I just can't work out where the problem is. It's driving me insane and I'd really appreciate some help. I'm new to C++.

My problem is this: I'm trying to pass a char array to a function, where a line is read from a file and then the array is passed back. However, the function returns gibberish - but ONLY when returning a file-derived array element. Here is my code:

int main ()
{
    char* tags[128];
    char* file="project3.xml";

FILE *fp;
   	fp=fopen(file, "r");

int tits = NextTag( fp, tags );
   	cout << "tags[0] post-Fn = *" << tags[0] << "*\n";
   	cout << "tags[1] post-Fn = *" << tags[1] << "*\n";

system("PAUSE");
    return 0;
}

int NextTag( FILE* fp, char* tags[] )
{
    int count2 = 0;
    char* pch;
    char rida1[512];
    fgets(rida1, sizeof(rida1), fp);
    cout << "rida1 in-Fn = *" << rida1 << "*\n";
    tags[0] = "bottoms";
    tags[1] = rida1;
    cout << "tags[0] in-Fn = *" << tags[0] << "*\n";
    cout << "tags[1] in-Fn = *" << tags[1] << "*\n";
}

The .xml file it's reading from just contains the word 'bottoms'. Here is the output:

rida1 in-Fn = *bottoms*
tags[0] in-Fn = *bottoms*
tags[1] in-Fn = *bottoms*
tags[0] post-Fn = *bottoms*
tags[1] post-Fn = *L1"*
Press any key to continue. . .

Why the gibberish on line 5 of the output when it returns the manually entered entry fine? Any ideas? It's driving me insane!!

Recommended Answers

All 2 Replies

It returns gibberish because when that NextTag() returns the array radial is destroyed, which invalidates tags[1]. What you need to do is allocate memory for the text. Then main() will have to delete[] that memory when its done with it.

tags[1] = new char[strlen(radia1)+1];
strcpy(tags[1], radia1);

Another way to do it is for main() to allocate memory for that string

char* tags[4] = {0};
char radia1[80];
tags[1] = radia1;