I'M reading the book "Python Programing second edition for the absolute beginner". While explaining the object paramater whithin a class, this how it reads.

Base your class on object , a fundamental, built-in type.

Can someone please tell me what that means?
Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

Difficult to say without more context. Is the author talking about inheritance at that point?

Note that in python 3, there are no 'old style class', so that your class is implicitely a subclass of object. Here is a small experiment with python 2.6 and python 3.1

Python 2.6.4 (r264:75706, Oct 27 2009, 15:50:27) 
[GCC 4.4.1] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> class A:
...  pass
>>> class B(object):
...  pass
>>> import inspect
>>> inspect.getmro(A) # get the ancestor classes
(<class __main__.A at 0x7f3356d339b0>,)
>>> inspect.getmro(B)
(<class '__main__.B'>, <type 'object'>)
>>> dir(A)
['__doc__', '__module__']
>>> dir(B)
['__class__', '__delattr__', '__dict__', '__doc__', '__format__', '__getattribute__', '__hash__', '__init__', '__module__', '__new__', '__reduce__', '__reduce_ex__', '__repr__', '__setattr__', '__sizeof__', '__str__', '__subclasshook__', '__weakref__']
>>> issubclass(A, object)
False
>>> a = A()
>>> isinstance(a, object) # look at this !
True
>>> issubclass(B, object)
True
Python 3.1.1 (r311:74480, Aug 17 2009, 21:52:39) 
[GCC 4.4.1] on linux2
Type "help", "copyright", "credits" or "license" for more information.
>>> class A:
...  pass
>>> class B(object):
...  pass
>>> import inspect
>>> inspect.getmro(A)
(<class '__main__.A'>, <class 'object'>)
>>> inspect.getmro(B)
(<class '__main__.B'>, <class 'object'>)
>>> dir(A)