Hi! I have a VB6 project and I used ms access as my database(Database.mdb), I packed my project including the database, I already install it on my PC, but when I use or run my newly installed VB6 project and type the username and password I got this error: Run-time error '53': File not found. Can somebody explain why I got this error? Please I need help. Thanks. :)

Recommended Answers

All 8 Replies

Where did you tell your setup package to install your database? Because I believe the path you used to point to your database is incorrect and hence the error you are recieveing...

Good Luck

I put it on C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98\CSCI15\Package\Support. I aslo include the Setup.ini file setting the path to C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\VB98\CSCI15\Package\Support. But still have have the same error. This is my first time to pack a VB6 project with a database. I think there's something wrong with the packaging process. Any help?

Are you using the PDW? (Package and Deployment Wizard) If so, when you are walking through the steps, there is a screen that allows you to add files (Files are not added automatically when you put them in the support directory, you have to add them.). Use this screen to add the database and to specify where it is to be installed.

Good Luck

What kind of connection are you using? DAO or ADO ?

How do you access the database...???
In ADO, an exapmle is:

Dim cn As ADODB.Connection
Dim rs As ADODB.Recordset

Set cn = New ADODB.Connection
cn.ConnectionString = "Provider=Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0;" & _
      "Data Source= " & App.Path & "\database.mdb;Persist Security Info=False;Jet OLEDB:Database Password=ElE;"
    cn.Open

Look at the 6 line of code...
If the database is residing in the same folder(ie. application folder), then, for example if you have installed in "C:\mysoft" folder,then
App.path & "\database.mdb" gives C:\mysoft\database.mdb

ok. what location you give in your project. is it same as what your said?