Start off this is my first post so go easy on me :)

I am a beginner at C# programming and have been set the task of making a tamagotchi in a console application, my question is there anyone who can point me in the direction of a good tutorial or can supply some starter code or hints to get me going.

Thanks
:)

Recommended Answers

All 17 Replies

Hi narg, welcome here at daniweb:)
We don't know what your programming knowledge is at the moment, you have to tell us more. Have you already some code?
You obviously going to need the Timer class I guess and a lot of Console input and output. Look in Help menu (if you have VS C#??)to get more information about those classes to start with.

Thanks for the welcome =] and yea i have done a little programming before but I don't have a vast knowledge i have done a few other programs but only basic ones such as vending machine program in a console application and few other basic ones.

I have the brief of the program if you would like me to put that up here if that makes it easier?

Your brief might help, but don't expect that anyone here is going to do all the work for you;)

Well narg...
the only thing you can do is, go through Google, and there you can find lots of good tutorial regarding this.........:)

dont worry im not expecting any help on the actual assignment to help this i wont upload the brief but i will sum it up... We have to basically create in console application using C# a tamagotchi which allows the user to feed, heal, play with it but the variable values for these are reduced as time goes on and it is stored in a external file.

Also regards to the google research ive had a look but i cant find any tutorials only pre made code to download which is cheating.

Read this info about a Timer class info about a Timer class
As input you will need some menu with options of what you want to do. Look and search around here, there must be some code you can use.