Hi all,

I'm new to working with C++ (I'm more a C programmer) and I have a question:
I have a container class for a templated type T, which could be any scalar type, although the most commonly used ones are unsigned char and float.
I have a function that prints some of the elements to screen:

template <class T>
void dumpImageAscii(
    const Image2D<T> *image, 
    const char *file_name)
{
    bool is_int = numeric_limits<T>::is_integer;
    for (v = image->bounds._l2; v <= image->bounds._h2; v++)
    {
        for (u = image->bounds._l1; u <= image->bounds._h1; u++)
        {
            if (is_int)
                fprintf(pFile, "%10d", image->m[v][u]);
            else
                fprintf(pFile, "%16g", image->m[v][u]);
        }
        fprintf(pFile, "\n");
    }
}

Although the is_int flag takes care of formatting when printing, the compiler still throws a warning every time I call this function, stuff like:

warning: format ‘%10d’ expects type ‘int’, but argument 3 has type ‘double’

Which is expected because it's not smart enough to figure out which tree to go in at compile time.
I do not like seeing warnings in my code, especially unnecessary warnings like these...
Is there a way around this?
Also I want to avoid cout/fout whenever possible...most of the project is straight C, it's just that we need templates for this part.

Thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

better off replacing that fprintf() with c++ fstream class so that the compiler won't complain so much.

I understand for quick solutions you would follow AncientDragon's sage advice.
However, that always leaves a sour taste since I am sure your want to know how to do it:

So here goes

template<typename A>
struct printFunctor
{
   static void print(FILE*,const T& Obj) { }
};

template<>
struct printFunctor<int>
{
    static void print(FILE* fptr,const int& Obj) {  // stuff for int }
};
// and so on for each type