Hello

I am creating the windows application for reading, calculating and printing the data logged by my USB device in c#. I am basically a Microcontroller programmer but now learning C#.
I have already succeeded in collecting data from my system via USB (Code from Jan Axelson) and created graphs of data using ZedGraph. The basic setup is in place.

Now my requirement is that I have to prepare the data in a table form, make some calculations , make some results and show all these neatly in a form and print if needed. Even though i have different data sets, a single set can anyway accommodate in a A4 size sheet.
What should I look for ? Is it what we call report writer?
How should I proceed?

Thanks for reading
Roy Thomas

Recommended Answers

All 12 Replies

Hey Roy. I'm a little new to using the report controls shipped with VS, but they make life so much easier I think. Anyway, I want to see what recommendations others might make for you.

In the meantime, you could search the web for "CrystalReportViewer C# tutorial", or various other combinations to find a good tutorial on how to add this report viewer to your Form and how to design it to present your data the way you like. Hopefully you won't have any trouble incorporating your data into the design and building the visual presentation, but you could always ask about any problem with that too.

Thanks
I am reading a book named crystal reports for dummies. Just started!

I have to handle only a small data set. only 72 records. No different reports - only one report. I have no database, only a text file with these 72 records.
Will this huge report writer(crystal reports) be a overkill?
still may be useful in future projects, right?

Thanks

There is a control in Visual studio called Microsoft Report Viewer. I think that is a simple report generator compared to crystal reports. Let me see weather I can use it for my purpose.