Hello.

Could anyone tell me how to convert roman numbers to decimal numbers. Can anyone provide some example for it?

Thanks a lot.
regist1

Recommended Answers

All 15 Replies

I would be most grateful if you could post/write a code for me, please.
I really need it, either convert decimal to roman or roman to decimal.

Thanks.

commented: Lazy. -1

Yes, of course I accept that.. but I'm just learning C and I'm in a bad situation now (no time), so if someone could help me.. it will be great.

anyway, I'm trying to write it alone.. :(

Yes, of course I accept that.. but I'm just learning C and I'm in a bad situation now (no time), so if someone could help me.. it will be great.

anyway, I'm trying to write it alone.. :(

The best thing you could do is post what you have so far and state where your having problems....

well, my problem is to find algorithm.. could you help me at least with the way I can white it (in C), just algorithm, some advices please..

You are not the first person that has posted here to deal with this problem. Do a search on the forums.

Hint, break the number that is input into pieces, going from largest to smallest. You probably know those pieces well, or if you don't look the system up on Wikipedia, it's a nice article.

Hint, break the number that is input into pieces, going from largest to smallest. You probably know those pieces well, or if ...

Something like this? (decimal to roman)

while (number >= 1000)
{
     printf("M");
     number -= 1000;
}

But I still dont understand how it works..
for example, I've got 595 (DXCV?) and how can I get roman number from it? ..

I've seen stuff with people putting a bar over it for multiple thousands, so V (bar) = 5000.