Hi all,

I'm new to Java and going through a steep learning curve. Every now and then I'm getting dead stuck, so your help is immensely appreciated.

So, here's the problem:

(with Java NetBeans IDE)
I have a JFrame form, and in it 4 JComboBox'es. Also a JButton titled "Enter".

So when I click on the "Enter" button I want to read the selected ComboBox Text for all the ComboBoxes.

e.g.

if ComboBox 1 = "Ford"
ComboBox 2 = "Focus"
ComboBox 3 = "Red"
ComboBox 4 = "2005"

then upon clicking the "Enter" button I would like to have something like this

carstring = "Ford Focus Red 2005"

How do I do this?
Further I want to have the possibility of not having to click on each combobox individually... what i mean is to be able to read all the combobox values without actually having to click on the combobox itself before... fore example if "Ford" is the default value, I would like to be able to read it's value without having to click on the combobox.

Many thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 6 Replies

Look at API for the class JComboBox. There is a method called: getSelectedValue or something like that. It returns an Object. You can use that to get what is selected.
If what is added in the ComboBoxes are Strings then you can cast the result of the above method to a String.

You can have one button. Once clicked read the values from all comboBoxes

There's a good tutorial for the basics here.

There's a good tutorial for the basics here.

I had checked the Sun tutorial but still stuck... i'm now trying to figure out the getSelectedValue mentioned in the first post...

I had checked the Sun tutorial but still stuck... i'm now trying to figure out the getSelectedValue mentioned in the first post...

In that tutorial there is this code:

String petName = (String)cb.getSelectedItem();

Where cb is the JComboBox. In the tutorial that piece of code is called whenever the comboBox is clicked, but you can call that method whenever you want. When you click the button call that method.