Hello everyone,

I just started learning Java, I like it so far because it is very similar to c#, which I am familar with. But I can't get programs to compile for me. It gives me an error saying 'Exception in thread "main" ' I am using NetBeans to compile the program.
Any suggestions would be great.
Thanks in advance.

Recommended Answers

All 9 Replies

A public class needs to have the same name as the java file it's contained in.
A class must also be public in order to be able to run as a program AND have a main method with the correct signature.

copy this following code sample

class Test
{
public static void main(String arg[])
{
System.out.println("Hello From the Java World");
}
}

//////// Save this file as Test.java
now start cmd prompt and ur current dir must be the bin of jdk
use this command
javac Test.java

run the application using
java Test

Note Java is case sensitive. in every terms.

Note Java is case sensitive. in every terms.

What about hexidecimal literals? :)

Ok, I got it to compile. I had to upgrade netbeans. Once I did that, I compiled it and it ran fine.

Thanks for the help.

If you are new to java, netbeans will only hold you back. Try using a less advanced, lessdecorated, and less stiff IDE like JCreator or eclipse, so you have control over the language instead of the IDE. Just my opinion but it is what i was told when i first started programming and i'm sure many experienced programmers agree that the bells and whistles make learning java alot more complex than it needs to be.

If you are new to java, netbeans will only hold you back. Try using a less advanced, lessdecorated, and less stiff IDE like JCreator or eclipse, so you have control over the language instead of the IDE. Just my opinion but it is what i was told when i first started programming and i'm sure many experienced programmers agree that the bells and whistles make learning java alot more complex than it needs to be.