Hi guys,

I'm new to C++ and I'm doing a small project, I got a little problem with reading a specific number from a text file.
for example:

size 2 3

I want my program to read the 2 to a and the 3 to b. Also I want the user to input the store number and then I can look for this number in my file to give him all the information he wants.
fro example;

Store 1
Available Soft drinks: 24
Pepsi/ 7up: 12/12

Store2
info..

I want to go the required store and show the user the information he wants.

Attached is what I have done so far though it's still not working.
I really appreciate ur help.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;

int main () {
	int m, n, x,y, store;
	ifstream file;
	file.open ("file.txt");
	if (!file1){
		cout << "Unable to open file"; // if file doesn't exist
		exit(1);
	}

m = file.get();
	n = file.get();
	cout << "Enter the store number you want  to know about it? " << "\n";
	cin >> x;
	fscanf(file, "%store", x); 
        cout << "You have: " << y << "Pepsi" << "\n";
	cout << "You have: " << y << "7yp" << "\n";

Recommended Answers

All 18 Replies

You have this posted as a code snippet, but it looks like a regular forum thread (snippets are when you don't need help and you know how to do something and want to share your code with others).

I don't know what the "size 2 3" part has to do with the other part of the program or whether it is two separate tasks. Regardless, don't use "get" here; use the >> operator:

If this is your input file and file is your ifstream:

size 2 3
string aString; // used to store the word "size"
int a, b; // stores 2 and 3
file >> aString;
file >> a;
file >> b;

a now stores 2 and b stores 3.

As to your other question, you'll probably need to elaborate more. What exactly does the file look like? You have some dots in there. You'll want to post more of the file so it's clear what it looks like (maybe the first three or four records).

Thank VernonDozier!