}
cout << "god im so bored" << endl;
cout << endl;
system("pause")
return 0;

}

i get an error :
ISO C++ forbids comparision between pointer and integer

how do i fix this? and what is actually causing this and why is it like that?

also im just starting out in codeing and wanted to know if there was a way i can make it so i can run it in anything besides CMD.
like if i could make it so when someone clicks on it , it opens up in like a window that i choose or something then it has buttons where it has the different types of code i put in there...

any help will be appreciated.
thanks.

Recommended Answers

All 51 Replies

What is the data type of your input variable?

Are you comparing it to a similar type value? No.

If you want to compare to "good" or "bad" or "crappy" or ... you must take your input as a string. If you use C-style (char array based) strings, you must the use one of the comparison functions. If you use the C++ string class, then your comparison method will work.

Master the fundamentals of console applications first, then you can move on to writing windowed programs. Or fire up Visual Basic.

Also, in the future please post your program using the code tags:

[code]

your code goes here

[/code]

What is the data type of your input variable?

Are you comparing it to a similar type value? No.

If you want to compare to "good" or "bad" or "crappy" or ... you must take your input as a string. If you use C-style (char array based) strings, you must the use one of the comparison functions. If you use the C++ string class, then your comparison method will work.

Master the fundamentals of console applications first, then you can move on to writing windowed programs. Or fire up Visual Basic.

Also, in the future please post your program using the code tags:

[code]

your code goes here

[/code]

so if i do like...

char array[3];
array[0] = good;
array[1] = bad;
array[2] = crappy;
char who;

cout << "whatever" << endl;
cin >> who

if (who == [0])
{