hi guys ,im new to perl programming and when i programmed tcp client-server coding in perl i encountered some problem saying :
Can't locate socket.pm in @INC (@INC contains: /usr/lib/perl5/5.8.5/i386-...)
i tried this in linux-centos and version of perl im using is: v5.8.5

my program was like this:
tcp-server:

#!/bin/perl -w
use strict;
use socket;qw(INADDR_ANY AF_INET SOCK_STREAM sockaddr_in);

my $proto=getprotobyname('tcp');
socket(SOMAXCONN,SOCK,AF_INET,SOCK_STREAM,$proto)or die "socket:$!";

my $port=getservbyname('daytime','tcp');
my $paddr=sockaddr_in($port,INADDR_ANY);

bind(SOCK,$paddr)or die "bind:$!";

listen(SOCK,SOMAXCONN)or die "listen:$!";

while(1)
{
	if(accept(CLIENT,SOCK))
	{
	    print CLIENT scalar localtime,"\n";
	    close CLIENT;
	}
}

tcp-client:

#!/bin/perl -w
use strict;
use socket; qw(AF_INET SOCKSTREAM inet_aton sockaddr_in);

$proto=getprotobyname('tcp');

socket(SOCK,AF_INET,SOCK_STREAM,$proto)or die "socket:$!";
$addr=inet_aton('localhost');
$port=getservbyname('daytime','tcp');

$paddr=sockaddr_in($port,$addr);

connect(SOCK,$paddr)or die "connect:$!";
print <SOCK>;

close(SOCK)||die "close:$!";

when i ran server program ,i encountered that error.any help appreciated....

Recommended Answers

All 5 Replies

Capitalize socket in your third line. use Socket, not use socket. Also, remove the qw line following it.

thanx comatose,my program is working now ,there was also error of not specifying scope in the client program and i would like to know:
-> what exactly 'qw' is and is it necessary to include it?
->significance of scope 'my' in a program